Inez Kaiser Minority Educators Leadership Program


$5,000 grant

This grant supports a networking and development opportunity for the winner of The Inez Kaiser Graduate Student of color award. The award is targeted at minority graduate students in public relations across the US. Selection priority is given to doctoral students and those who will present a research paper at the AEJMC National Conference. The award is aimed at encouraging minority students to become faculty members teaching public relations in U.S. higher education programs.

The award is named for Dr. Inez Kaiser, a former educator and leader of her own public relations firm, who was the first African-American woman to belong to PRSA.

The grant pays the honoree’s membership dues in AEJMC and supports their attendance at the National Conference. The students are assigned a mentor, and encouraged to take part in the Inez Kaiser Minority Educators Leadership Program.

The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) Public Relations Division is headed by Natalie Tindall, Ph.D, of Georgia State University. Dr. Tindall was the 2012 chair of the PRSA Diversity Committee and is well-known to Foundation board members.