We invest in the future of the public relations by supporting outstanding undergraduate and graduate students with scholarships and awards.

For a list of the 2014 Scholarship Winners: please CLICK HERE.

Lou Capozzi, PRSA Foundation President with PRSSA Scholarship Award Winners

Yearly Scholarship Awards

Alaska Chapter Len McLean Scholarship:
named for one of the founders of the Alaska Chapter of PRSA, to honor his contributions to the local organization and to the advancement of the profession. The $1,500 award is open to residents of Alaska who attend a four-year university and are members of PRSSA. Selection is based on academic achievement and a commitment to the public relations profession.

Axia Public Relations Scholarship:
Sponsored by Axia Public Relations, this scholarship awards students who demonstrate a passion for public relations as well as a dedication to professional ethics and excellence.

Betsy Plank/PRSSA Scholarships: presented annually in honor of past PRSA President, Betsy Plank, to PRSSA members in their junior or senior years. Three awards totaling $4,250 are given to students who are selected based on their commitment and leadership in PRSSA and the public relations profession.

Chester Burger Scholarship for Excellence in Public Relations: a $1,000 award recognizing outstanding academic achievement for graduate students in public relations. Selection based on an essay describing the alignment of corporate goals with the public interest.

Gary Yoshimura Scholarship: established in memory of Gary Yoshimura.  A $2,400 prize is awarded based on financial need and an essay competition open to all members of PRSSA.

The John D. Graham Scholarship: offered by the public relations firm Fleishman-Hilliard. A first place scholarship of $3,000 and two runner-up awards of $1,000 each are granted to students demonstrating high academic achievement, leadership and commitment to public relations.

Marcia Silverman Minority Student Award: a $5,000 annual scholarship from Ogilvy Public Relations Worldwide. Minority candidates must demonstrate outstanding academic achievement, a minimum 3.0 GPA and a commitment to enter the public relations profession.

The Ofield Dukes Multicultural Student Award: a $1000 scholarship awarded each year to a minority undergraduate student who best demonstrates the commitment to service and social responsibility that Ofield Dukes personified.

Neumeier Family Leadership Award: Open to all graduate and undergraduate PRSSA members, the Neumeier Family Leadership Award, recognizes a student who has demonstrated an outstanding record of effective leadership in PRSSA, the campus and/or the community.

PRSA Diversity Multicultural Scholarship: recognizes young men and women for outstanding academic achievement and commitment to the practice of public relations. This essay competition awards $1,500 scholarships to two minority students.

Robin M. Urbanski Memorial Scholarship: This $1,000 scholarship is designed to honor a student for his/her mentoring of others and his/her commitment to public relations.

Ron Culp Scholarship for Mentorship: a $1,000 annual scholarship for recognition of outstanding academic achievement.  Awarded to a junior or senior enrolled in a college or university journalism, mass communications and/or public relations undergraduate program.

Stephen D. Pisinski Memorial Scholarship: established in 2002 by Allison & Partners in memory of Steve Pisinski, a former president of PRSA. A $1,500 award is based on academic achievement and an essay describing the candidate’s career goals.


Altschul Champions for PRSSA Outstanding Internship:  for outstanding academic achievement and success in a public relations internship. Winners receive a $300 award. Open to undergraduate PRSSA students, the award is based on faculty recommendations and an essay.

Dr. Frederick H. Teahan Chapter Awards: rewards outstanding achievement of P.R.S.S.A. students. The most prestigious and competitive is the Teahan Award for Outstanding Chapter. A total of $2,800 is distributed between 10 categories, including:

  • Outstanding Chapter
  • Chapter Development
  • Chapter Diversity
  • Chapter Firm
  • Chapter Newsletter
  • Chapter Website
  • Regional Conference
  • Community Service
  • University Service
  • PRSA/PRSSA Relationship
  • Faculty Adviser
  • Professional Adviser

JJ&W Behavioral Science Prize:  embraces the applicability and importance of behavioral science findings to public relations practice and encourages public relations practitioners to apply such research in their work. Individuals or teams of behavioral science researchers are eligible for the Award if:

  • Research enhances understanding of behavioral science concepts and theories that contribute to the effectiveness of the practice of public relations; and
  • Findings have been disseminated and are available to practitioners and scholars of public relations

The Foundation welcomes contributions to any of the above named funds. if you are interested in creating a named fund with the PRSA Foundation, please contact Wendy Gallo at (212) 460-1412.

Lou Capozzi addresses the audience at the 2012 PRSSA National Conference Awards Dinner.