Stephen D. Pisinski Memorial Scholarship

PRSA-Foundation Logo

The check will be payable to the recipient’s university for the recipient’s use, and can only be used to fund educational pursuits.

*Be a journalism, communications or public relations major.
*Be in your junior or senior year of college.
*Have at least a 3.3 overall grade point average on a 4.0 scale.
*Be a PRSSA member.

*A completed online application form.
*A résumé including academic honors, special projects, activities and work experience.
*A current academic transcript.
*An essay of 1,000 words or less in English stating your career goals.
*Two writing samples in English (in addition to the essay).
*Two letters of academic or professional recommendation.

About Stephen D. Pisinski:
The Stephen D. Pisinski Memorial Scholarship was established in 2002. The scholarship was developed by Allison & Partners in memory of Steve Pisinski, APR, Fellow PRSA, and founder of The Montgomery Group.

A 25-year public relations agency veteran, Stephen D. Pisinski began his public relations career in 1971 at Ketchum in Pittsburgh, later transferring to Ketchum San Francisco. Pisinski remained at the San Francisco office for six years, becoming vice president and associate director. In 1981, he opened and directed the San Francisco office of Burson-Marsteller and later moved to work in Burson’s New York office.

In 1984 Pisinski opened his own agency, SDP Communications, in San Francisco. SDP Communications was later acquired by Ogilvy & Mather Public Relations in 1985. As part of the merger, Pisinski served as general manager of Ogilvy's San Francisco office from 1985 to 1991. In 1992, he formed The Montgomery Group.

Pisinski served on PRSA’s Board of Directors for several years and as president in 2000. As President, he lead the organization through many advances in the industry. He developed new leadership opportunities for PRSA and encouraged PRSSA members to reach their potential by pursuing leadership roles within the organization. Pisinski created and executed campaigns pro bono for San Francisco School Volunteers, Swords to Plowshares, and the Association for Retarded Citizens.

He held a bachelor's degree in history from Georgetown University and a master's in public relations from Boston University. Steve felt that the key to success in life was to communicate well. His passion for communications lead him to start the competing student newspaper, The Voice, at Georgetown University. The newspaper continues to live up to its name as the leading “voice” of students attending Georgetown University.

Previous Winners:

2020-2021 Alexa Ballard, Brigham Young University
2019-2020 Trisney Bocala, Southern Adventist University
2017-2018 Alyssa Comins, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa
2016-2017 Concetta Ciarlo, SUNY Fashion Institute of Technology
2015-2016 Sydney Velez, Illinois State University
2013–2014 and 2014-2015 JoLena Broussard, Louisiana State University
2012–2013 Shannon Ball, Capital University
2011–2012 Kelsey Hutchinson, Capital University
2010–2011 Amy Bishop, Indiana University
2009–2010 Megan Horn, University of Northern Iowa
2008–2009 Brittany Paxman, The University of Texas at Austin
2007–2008 Megan Elizabeth Broussard, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
2006–2007 Jessica Mongeon, University of North Dakota
2005–2006 Shandi Greve, Southeast Missouri State University
2004–2005 Kara Czerniak, University of Florida
2003–2004 Danielle Lewis, Florida A&M University
2002–2003 Chris Lukach, Rowan University

Application Deadline: April 30, 2024